Since WLM/MSN is closing down on March 2013, I did a clean-u

Since WLM/MSN is closing down on March 2013, I did a clean-up today instead of waiting for the dreaded happiest day. (Yes, happiest because one less IM to manage.)

  • Removed my WLM/MSN transport from my XMPP talkr.im account
  • Removed all WLM/MSN contacts I have on my YM account
  • Deleted all contacts that I know who have a Skype account from my WLM/MSN (so when I login to Skype, I only have few WLM/MSN contacts to import – mostly Korean gamedevs; they’ll probably migrate to YM or Skype [hopefully XMPP/Jabber])
  • Linked my WLM/MSN with Skype

Goodbye WLM/MSN. Good riddance. And thank you Microsoft for finally shutting it down.

Now, who will be next?

  • AIM
  • Yahoo! Messenger
  • ICQ

I’m voting for YM. Seriously, who needs an IM network that will once again be an island on its own? (WLM via Skype doesn’t communicate with YM; maybe next year they’ll fix that)

XMPP/Jabber is way much better. Time to kill YM.

Read the original post and comment stream on Friendica

Leave a Reply

