Yey, I can run Guild Wars 2 in WINE Linux. Well, up to the l

Yey, I can run Guild Wars 2 in WINE Linux. Well, up to the login screen since there is no stress test today (game launch on 25th for 3-day headstart bonus). It remains to be seen if it will work smoothly like Guild Wars 1.

However, I’m eager to test it because I am also testing SMAA or Enhanced Subpixel Morphological Antialiasing. SMAA is better than TXAA which is better than FXAA which is better than ordinary AA (Anti-Aliasing).

It’s a little tricky to when you have to run DirectX games in WINE because you have to use the SMAA compiled directx dll instead of WINE. I set it up to “Native, then builtin” but until I can get in-game, I can not tell much if it is indeed working.

At least for Guild Wars 2 via WINE. I tried running SMAA with Guild Wars 1 via WINE but I’m getting all black. I’m going to give it a try via Windows 7 and see if it works fine there.

Read the original post and comment stream on Friendica

Leave a Reply

