Tim Berners-Lee: demand your data from Google and Facebook

Developer of the "WWW" Tim Berners-Lee: demand your data from Google and Facebook http://j.mp/J22eXU

Tim Berners-Lee: demand your data from Google and Facebook on Guardian

"One of the issues of social networking silos is that they have the data and I don’t … There are no programmes that I can run on my computer which allow me to use all the data in each of the social networking systems that I use plus all the data in my calendar plus in my running map site, plus the data in my little fitness gadget and so on to really provide an excellent support to me."

Berners-Lee has in the past warned that the rise of social-networking "silos" such as Facebook, and "closed world" apps such as those released by Apple, which cannot be indexed by web search engines, threaten the openness and universality that the architects of the internet saw as central to its design.

Leave a Reply

